fbpx

with Mastrius Master Artist Mitchell Albala

Simplification and Massing in Art Composition – Workshop TPV-047

5 Weekly Sessions

FRIDAYS: 11:00am – 1:00pm MST
10:00am – 12:00pm PST
1:00pm – 3:00pm EST
7:00pm – 9:00pm CEST
3:00am – 5:00am AEST (Saturdays)

Starts January 13, 2023

Session Dates:
Jan. 13 | Jan. 20 | Jan. 27 | Feb. 3 | Feb. 10

$400.00

6 in stock

Max 10 registrations.

The ability to simplify — to translate nature’s detail and complexity into fewer and more readable shapes and patterns — is the most important skill for the landscape painter.

Painting or drawing a shape is not that difficult, but seeing a shape through layers of color, detail and complexity requires a practiced shift in perception. In this class, working from your own photos and/or those supplied by your instructor, you will do several exercises and paintings, designed to encourage your eye and hand toward the simplified shape interpretation that is the backbone of the landscape painting experience. Essential coursework for plein air painters.

This workshop will cover:

  • how the first step of simplification is through a “limited focus”
  • how limited values encourage shape differentiation
  • shape combining and the hierarchy of shapes — how to discriminate between major driver shapes and minor shapes
  • how to lay a foundation with a restricted number of shapes
  • how to balance detail and simplicity with the 80/20 rule

Level: Advanced beginner to intermediate 

Mastrius Master Mitchell Albala is also the author of the two most popular books on landscape painting in the nation. He brings to this challenging topic the same practical step-by-step methodology that have made his books and workshops so popular. 

“It’s easy to paint a thousand points of light with a thousand brushstrokes. It’s much more difficult — but infinitely more eloquent — to paint a thousand points of light with only one hundred strokes.”

Mitchell Albala, from "Landscape Painting: Essential Concepts and Techniques for Plein Air and Studio Practice”

DOWNLOAD
Grow A Culture of Resiliency

DOWNLOAD

Grow A Culture of Resiliency

You will be redirected to the PDF once you enter your email address. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Stay in the Know

Join our Mailing List to receive information about new Masters, Events and Mentorship Groups!

You've been added to the list! Please add earn.it@levellingup.ca to your contacts so that you don't miss our emails.